The Last Monday

Tomorrow is Monday and also the last Monday I will endure at my current job. It’s really the last dreaded Monday as I know it; I cannot see the next 9 to 5 in my near future due to my upcoming move to Austria (and for the record, I would really like it to not be the traditional 9 to 5. Who would?). Last Monday I told my boss I was making a big life change and moving to Austria. I told him that I was giving two weeks notice. I can’t believe that first week went by so quickly and here I am on the eve of my last Monday.

As I was hanging around today, doing the usual Sunday thing,  I realized while making my bed that I wasn’t stressed. My next thought was that tomorrow was Monday. I thought, hmmm, this is interesting. I only just realized this was a Sunday preceding a work Monday and that I wasn’t dreading it. I hadn’t even thought about work all weekend or had the idea that the weekend was finite and I didn’t want it to end. Then I remembered that this will be my very last week at this job. Aha!! I’ve never been in this position before. I don’t really know how to approach this week. It still hasn’t hit me that I will not be coming back to this office. I think the first reason is because I’ve taken plenty of vacations and have had plenty of time off so there’s a small part of my subconscious that thinks I’ll be returning in a couple weeks. In reality, the fact that I am leaving this job for good is fantastic. Don’t get me wrong, I like a lot of things about my current job; the location, my boss, my coworkers, the hours and flexibility. It’s just what I do that I can’t stand and am more than happy to be not having to do it anymore.

The second reason is that I’ve been at my current job for over 2 years and it’s just so familiar. It’s strange to think I won’t be preparing my lunch the night before work, or setting out my gym clothes for the next day. That I won’t be waking up in my bed to get ready and put on my business casual attire and  then drive to the office. That I won’t be seeing my coworkers or my work bestie and slogging away in my office all day, looking at my computer,  reviewing and signing documents. That I won’t be dealing with foreclosures [hopefully] ever again, handling the same annoying phone calls, the barrage of emails and stressful issues I have seen every day since I started. As I clear out my office this week, I wonder how I will feel and if it will really hit me.

Overall I’m thrilled. Not only am I over the moon to be moving so that my boyfriend and I can be together full time, I’m really looking forward to getting out of my comfort zone and embark on a  totally new adventure. I can’t believe how lucky I am to be living this life. Yes, there will be challenges and I still have many things to consider and take care of before I leave. And I am nervous about leaving my home, family and friends and my comfort zone to jump into a strange world. But the payoff is so great. I won’t be getting secure paychecks for a while, at least in the traditional sense, but I think it will be well worth it. IMG_6929

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

